Marin Emergency Radio Authority


The Authority is governed by the Governing Board, which exercises all powers and authority and consists of one member of the governing body or chief administrative officer, or designee of the Members. The purpose of the Authority is to plan, finance, implement, manage, own, and operate a multijurisdictional and countywide public safety, public service, and emergency radio system. MERA provides a communication delivery system that is interoperable between public agencies in order to efficiently and effectively facilitate emergency communications. 


Overall management of the Marin Emergency Radio Authority is the function of the Executive Committee comprised of nine voting members from the County of Marin, City of San Rafael, City of Novato, Fire Services, Police Departments, the Ross Valley agencies, Southern Marin cities and towns, the County Sheriff, and special districts.

Executive Committee

  • Matt McCaffrey
    City of Novato, Police Captain
  • Todd Cusimo
    Representing Ross Valley Cities/Towns
  • Roberty Doyle
    County of Marin, Sheriff
  • Christopher Gray
    City of San Rafael Fire Chief
  • Matthew Hymel, Chair
    County of Marin
  • Greg Chaniss
    Representing Southern Marin Cities/Towns
  • Richard Pearce
    Representing Fire Services
  • Michael Norton
    Representing Police Services
  • Tom Roach
    Representing Special Districts

Board Meetings

Board Membership

  • Steve Metcho
    Novato Fire Protection District
  • Jacqueline Graf-Reis
    City of Mill Valley
  • Diana Bishop
    City of San Rafael
  • Todd Cusimano
    Town of Corte Madera
  • Doug Kelly
    Town of San Anselmo
  • Michael Cronin
    Town of Tiburon
  • Michael Norton
    Central Marin Police Authority
  • James Fox
    Inverness Public Utility District
  • Tom Gaffney
    Town of Ross
  • Matthew Hymel
    County of Marin
  • Krishan Kumar
    Marin Municipal Water District
  • Stephen Willis
    Southern Marin Fire Protection District
  • Jeff Marozich
    Marin Community College District
  • Pam Drew
    City of Novato
  • Chris Morin
    Town of Fairfax
  • Craig Middleton
    City of Belvedere
  • Thomas Roach
    Marinwood Community Services District
  • Mark Mills
    Ross Valley Fire Department
  • Scott Shurtz
    City of Larkspur
  • Mark Pomi
    Kentfield Fire Protection District
  • Kenny Stevens
    Stinson Beach Fire Protection District
  • John Rohrbacher
    City of Sausalito
  • Anita Tyrell-Brown
    Bolinas Fire Protection District
  • Amy Van Doren
    Marin Transit