San Rafael Sanitation District

District Board

The District is governed by a three-member Board of Directors appointed to four-year terms:
  • Gary O. Phillips
    Term expires: November 2019
  • Katie Rice
    Term expires: December 2016
  • Maribeth Bushey
    Term expires: November 2017

Board Meetings

  • 3:30 p.m.
  • 2nd Thursday monthly
  • San Rafael City Hall
    Conference Room 201
    1400 Fifth Avenue
    San Rafael, CA 94901


Number of personnel: 15 total full-time equivalent positions. Current management contacts are as follows:

About the District

  • Land Area: 12.92 square miles
  • Population: 41,062 (as of 2014)
  • Areas Served: Central San Rafael south of Puerto Suello Hill and portions of neighboring unincorporated areas
  • Budget: Total Operating Revenue, Fiscal Year 2016-17: $29,911,000
  • Services: Pump station and collection system maintenance